Skip to Content

Composition Competition

Texas State Symphony Orchestra

Composers’ Competition


  • Performance of the winning work by the Texas State Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Dr. Jacob Harrison, on February 12, 2019
  • Archival recording of performance
  • Round-trip domestic airfare (up to $500) and lodging to attend rehearsals and concert

Rules and Eligibility:

  • Only US Citizens, permanent residents, and foreign nationals currently studying at American schools, colleges, conservatories and universities may apply
  • The submitted work may have had a previous performance or reading by an amateur or school ensemble, but works with a professional performance history are ineligible
  • Works with soloists are ineligible. Total instrumentation may not exceed:

3 3 3 3 – 4 3 3 1 – timp + 3 – piano – harp – strings (12 10 8 10 4)

  • Duration should be no more than 12 minutes
  • The winning composer must be available to attend rehearsals and the concert in San Marcos, TX from roughly February 9-13
  • The winning composer must provide 3 full scores and a full set of parts, with a sufficient string count
  • All styles and aesthetics are welcome
  • Recent repertoire performed by the Texas State Symphony can be found here:


How to apply:

Submit 3 copies of the full score, along with recording (if available), and a completed application form to:

Texas State Symphony Composers’ Competition

c/o Michael Ippolito, Assistant Professor of Composition

School of Music

Texas State University

601 University Drive

San Marcos, TX 78666


Application form can be found below.


Deadline for receipt of materials is November 1, 2018

If you would like your materials returned, please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope

All questions should be directed to Michael Ippolito at