Skip to Content

Director's RSS

Somos Músicos

a community of musicians @ Texas State University School of Music
Expand or Collapse all.

Jazz with poetry

Jazz faculty Hank Hehmsoth joined former TXST music faculty John Mills for a duo concert of five new original compositions Saturday, April 22 for  the 16th Annual “Poetry at Round Top”, a 3 day festival at the Round Top Festival Institute in Round Top, Texas. They performed with the nation’s most exciting and prominent poets [&...

NATS Chapter auditions on our campus

Last weekend the Texas State School of Music hosted more than 300 student vocalists and 59 teachers who participated in competitive auditions with the South Texas Chapter of the National Association of Teachers of Singing. Texas State faculty Oliver Worthington chaired the auditions, coordinating this major event. Also, Texas State faculty Richa...

Opera director recognized by American Prize

Winners of The American Prize in DIRECTING, 2016-17 have been announced. Samuel Mungo of Texas State tied for second Place for conceiving, producing and directing the world premiere of Mollicone’s Lady Bird, First Lady of the Land. The American Prize cites, “As Director of Opera Studies at Texas State University, he has created perha...

Busy trombone prof

Dr. Martin McCain was a guest artist at the American Trombone Workshop in Washington D.C. He presented a masterclass with his chamber ensemble, the Minor 4th Trombone Quartet, served on the jury for the National Bass Trombone Solo Competition and was a guest soloist with the University of Toronto’s Trombone Choir and the U.S. Army […]

flute prof gives teacher clinic

On March 26, Dr. Adah Toland Jones was an invited clinician for a group of teachers in the Houston Flute Club, part of a series the club has for its membership to discuss topics relevant to flute teachers at all levels. Topics chosen by Dr. Jones’ for her session included: “Taking Auditions,” “Common Flute Problems”...

Bobcat jazzers do Carol King

Texas State music faculty Hank Hehmsoth, Russell Scanlon, Paul Deemer, and former faculty member John Mills performed for the national tour of “Beautiful: The Carol King Musical” at Bass Concert Hall Texas Performing Arts in Austin.

VocaLibre goes on the road with Leno

VocaLibre recently went on the road with Jay Leno.   Directed by Craig Aamot, they  opened for an audience of about 1200  in Corpus Christi and a full house of 1800 in McAllen, which gave them a standing ovation.   Their 30-minute set offered music with themes of strength, hope, and compassion. The presentation included some Texas […]

10 of 30 Low Blows

Raul I. Rodriguez presented a lecture and solo performance of 10 selections from his book of 30 studies for tuba, Low Blows for Tuba, on March 18 for the 2017 South Central Regional Tuba Euphonium Conference in Edinburg at the University of Texas-Rio Grande Valley .

Tubas and euphoniums go south

Eleven members of the Texas State Tuba Euphonium Ensemble traveled to south Texas during Spring Break to present a recital of contemporary literature on March 17 for the 2017 South Central Tuba Euphonium Regional Conference in Edinburg at the University of Texas-Rio Grande Valley.

Bass trombonist wins national competition

Second-year M.M. Performance student Michael Johnson has won the 3rd division of the National Bass Trombone Solo Competition at the American Trombone Workshop in Fort Myer, Virginia, home of the U.S. Army Band “Pershing’s Own”.